Cook, eat, clean…repeat

Whew… This is a hard thing for me to say, and harder still to believe in my heart of hearts that it’s true, but I am all cooked out. For the moment, anyway. (I promise it won’t last.)

dsc03897.jpg

Christmas Eve started in as festive a manner possible with Oysters Mignonette (an easy, divine combo of shallots, Kitchen Line Sonoma Trio vinegar and parsley) and from that point on it was all cook, eat, clean, repeat. And now what we couldn’t consume rests in our fridge in various Tupperware containers, until it will be creatively repurposed (beyond recognition for my girls) into lunches and dinners for the rest of this year. (For the record, the brioche turned out ok – and made almost-naughty good French toast this morning!)

But when there’s no cooking left to do, there are, thankfully, books good books about cooking food and selecting food and eating food – and I have some gifted ones on just those subjects to crow about.

dsc03935-1.jpg

My French Kitchen, by Joanne Harris and Fran Warde – By the author of Chocolat, this French-English writer puts to print some favorite childhood French recipes (and some simplified techniques) alongside photography that makes me rue the strong Euro keeping me on this side of the Atlantic.

The Produce Bible: Essential Ingredient Information and More Than 200 Recipes for Fruits, Vegetables, Herbs & Nuts, by Leanne Kitchen and Deborah Madison – Full of good scoop about things that grow, like that bit about sage being traditionally served with eel in Germany, and that counsel to snap up plums with a silver, powdery glow (should you be fortuitous enough to happen upon them). I intend to consult this one a lot when unfamiliars pop up in my co-op produce basket.

Paris in a Basket: Markets, the Food and the People, by Nicolle Aimee Meyer and Amanda Pilar Smith – I’m a sucker for markets. I’m an impossible Francophile. Oh, and I’m kind of into food. So there we go.

Pippi Longstocking, by Astrid Lindgren – ok, so other than a few food fights, food isn’t exactly this story’s shining star. But it’s illustrated by Lauren Child, the brilliant Brit whose Charlie convinced Lola to eat a to-mah-to.

Read them and eat. Surely we’ll all be hungry again at some point.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

