Gratuitous sharing

[Recipe: Egg Cupcakes]

I have to say I deplore the whole mom sharing thing. You know what I’m talking about, that just because I popped a kid out and you did too, well, my don’t we have a lot in common? And then I become privy to your little Johnny’s sleep and poop schedule, and naturally I give you the low-down on what my little Janey got up to last night, and I guarantee I’ll one-up you.

We’re pretending to vent, but in reality, we’re just seeing who the better mom is. We know it’s our own selves, but just checking…

That said, there’s one area where I don’t mind the give-and-take of mommy tales. I love to talk about food, about what new organic, all-natural snack you’re making these days that your kids love to come home to. About where you like to shop for produce and what you’re doing differently with the salmon, so that maybe I can copy you if it sounds good.

It’s that spirit of mommy sharing –- the helpful kind, where we confidentially discuss things that really will make us better parents –- that brings me here today. School’s started, and I am now the proud maternal figure of one clarinet-wielding fifth grader and a tiny kindergartner whose backpack is so big that, from behind, all you see are little limbs and the tippy top of a brown head. These little people need to be fed –- and well –- before they hike up the sidewalk to school.

Now, do you really care what my girls eat for breakfast? On the off chance that you do, that you also like to benefit from knowing what other parents feed their children, take a gander at these breakfast egg cupcakes. A couple or three mouthfuls apiece, they’re a cinch, they can be made ahead and – I feel the halo coming on – they’re healthy.

Egg Cupcakes

I discovered a version of this recipe while watching one of those cooking segments on the local news a few years ago. Prepare these in muffin tins or silicone muffin cups. Sometimes we sprinkle the tops with grated cheese or chopped herbs before baking or toss in small pieces of sliced ham or smoked salmon. Makes 8 cupcakes.

4 slices of whole grain bread, torn into strips

6 large eggs, slightly beaten

Optional: small slices of ham, bacon or smoked salmon, about ½ inch in width; grated or crumbled cheese; chopped herbs

Kosher salt

Freshly ground pepper

Evenly divide bread strips among muffin cups. If adding ham or other ingredients, place on top of bread strips. Top with scant 1/3 C eggs, filling cups ¾ full. Add salt and pepper to taste. Sprinkle with cheese, if desired. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 to 20 minutes.

Share me!


Digg!
Delicious
Bookmark this on Delicious

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Tom Aarons said,

    These look so simple and easy and delicious! Thanks for the idea!

  2. 2

    Definitely beats pop tarts or overly sugary cereal! I’m going to have to start thinking of this stuff in the next few years… Great post and the photos make them look absolutely delicious.

  3. 3

    This looks great! What a perfect and yes, healthy way for them to start the day! :)

  4. 4

    Mandy said,

    That SO cracks me up! I really get annoyed with that, too, even though I know I have my moments of “oversharing.” Goes with the mom territory, I s’pose.

  5. 5

    sarah said,

    Yes, mommy over share is annoying. I forgot about pregnancy over share too. Suddenly with a belly everyone tells me about c-sections, and their epidurals, and crowning. Why must we rehash these stories to ladies on the brink of being there?

    But these morning cupcakes someone could talk my ear off about.

  6. 6

    tiiff said,

    You’re genius! Thanks for sharing the love! I’m making this for the boyz!

  7. 7

    Jude said,

    So cute! healthy and easy to make — how can you go wrong?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

