Beautiful on the inside

I hope you’re getting an eyeful of this. It’s called a caramel bar, and it’s very impressive. We snagged it at a favorite local bakery, and it tastes every crumb as good as it looks. Better, even, if that’s possible.

My task now is to figure out how the heck to replicate it in my own kitchen. It’s not as straightforward as, say, baking up a cookie you liked at the deli. And I’m no baking maven. I can’t figure out just by looking at (or biting into) this bar what exactly the composition is.

Allow me to try and describe it for you: soft, almost to the point of being undone on the inside, with a crust that borders on crunchy –- a topside baked up crinkly and crackly that also (contrary to reason) has a thick caramel glaze, and a perfectly browned, crisp underside. It’s the two of these qualities together, a crust that gives way mid-bite to velvet density, that’s keeping me up at night.

This local baking darling has stumped me before, with her version of a blondie, which had a similar interior texture and crust. There’s got to be a lot of butter. Loads, I’m sure. And eggs. Not a lot of flour.

But what else? What about technique? How does she do it, for crying out loud? I have to know.

So, all you baking know-it-alls out there, if you’re reading, would you mind terribly imparting a hint? A clue? Spilling a secret or two?

Oh, I’d be so grateful.

Share me!


Digg!
Delicious
Bookmark this on Delicious

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    julianne said,

    I just have one question… Where did you get it? I love your blog.

  2. 2

    Elle said,

    If you find out, please let us all know–that looks incredible!

  3. 3

    I’m guessing that there’s a hefty amount of brown sugar in there. And the butter is probably melted.

    Try melting the butter, mixing in the sugar, than the eggs/vanilla/what-have-you, then gently stir in your combined dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, salt).

    Let me know if this helps – and if you figure it out. I’m a total sucker for caramel!

  4. 4

    Trisha said,

    Thanks, Julianne! We discovered it at Tammie Coe. She rocks.

    Elle — I will let the world know if I crack the code on this one! I’ll be so excited.

    Camille — Truly can’t wait to try your suggestions! Good thinking on the brown sugar and melted butter. That is good insight as to how that crust got there.

  5. 5

    79sparrows said,

    mmmmm

    ok now I’m REALLY hungry

    that looks amazing.

  6. 6

    Dodo said,

    I think she used more egg yolks than whites..a lot of butter of course, and much less flour..some sort of syrup or honey could have gone into it too..


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

