Rescue me

[Recipe: Summer Shrimp Tacos]

Nothing says summer — other than a hearty slab of watermelon — like shrimp tacos.

DSC_2835-1

Not that I need anything to say, “summer,” to me. The sun is blaring it loud and clear with its constancy. My day lilies are hoarsely muttering it, parched after I left them for three long weeks to be tended by an unreliable sprinkler system. Yes, it’s a Southwest summer (read: 110-degree highs), and I’m stranded in the middle of a desert heat island with nothing to rescue me but a bowlful of sticky limes and a freezer full of shrimp.

What we all need in times like these is a good cool-me-down dish. This one’s a no-cook no-brainer, fresh-tasting and mildly spiced.

And it couldn’t be more perfect than when chased by a slice or two of watermelon.

Summer Shrimp Tacos

Serves 4

I’ve never been heavy-handed when it comes to mayo in my seafood. I added a touch here to hold everything together, but in no way does it overpower the other flavors. Need a nice accompaniment? Use your leftover cilantro in a corn and black bean salad.

Whole wheat or corn tortillas

1 lb small cooked shrimp

2 tbsp yogurt or mayonnaise

1 jar salsa (a less chunky variety works best)

juice of 1 lime

1 clove garlic, minced

2 tbsp chopped cilantro

Sea salt

1 C finely chopped cabbage

1 C shredded jack cheese

1 avocado, sliced

1/4 C red onion, chopped

In a medium bowl whisk together yogurt or mayonnaise, 2 tbsp of the salsa, lime juice, garlic and cilantro. Stir in shrimp and cabbage, then add sea salt to taste (try 1/2 tsp to start).

Divide shrimp mixture among warmed tortillas. Top with cheese, avocado and red onion. Serve with more salsa.

Share this Post

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Shrimp tacos sound fabulous! And like a great way to use up the leftover homemade tartar sauce I have stiing in the fridge. Thanks for the idea!

    Actually, I made shrimp tacos for my Hot Foods final in Culinary school. My chef-instructor loved them. :)

  2. 2

    food4two said,

    Hi Trisha, thanks for visiting my site, glad you liked the tapas post.

    Just reading this post and it is making me very jelous. I wish I had need for a ‘cool-me-down-dish’ but alas in England it is raining! No surprises there then.

    Hope yu get to Spain soon for some real tapas

    Claire

    http://www.food4two.wordpress.com

  3. 3

    Trisha said,

    Camille: I’ll bet your chef-instructor loved your shrimp tacos. Have you by chance posted the recipe yet? I’ll be the first to make them if you do.

    Claire: Now I’m jealous of your rain! Blue skies are nice, but I’d love a good downpour about now. And, oh, the things I would cook if it were cool outside…


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

