Pick and choose

Here’s my problem: I can’t do everything. Yes, that’s a superfluous-by-virtue-of-its-obviousness statement, but it’s a fact, and facts demand to be faced now and then.

I can’t keep my pinky toe in my writing career and volunteer to run the craft at my first grader’s class party and stay on top of watering the basil and remember that my sixth grader needs new shorts and train for a 200-mile cycle race and mop the kitchen tile after every meal preparation.

As moms (or as parents, or just busy people, for that matter) we’re in the business of picking and choosing. Do we do this or do we do that, because when we choose this instead of that, that is going to go undone.

And so I’m not obsessed with whatever sticky thing may be on the kitchen floor at the moment.

Instead, what I’m choosing to be awfully dang-good at is feeding my family well, at keeping my pantry stocked and the fruit bowl filled. I’m a pro at making sure there’s a constant supply of grape tomatoes and baby carrots, that we always have frozen berries for after-school smoothies and enough whole grains and beans for nights upon nights of rushed throw-together suppers.

The inside of my toilets may not have seen a scrubber all week, but I could care less because tonight — after I supervise the first graders’ craft, that is — I’m making some chargrilled asparagus and zucchini with strange cheese that’s a byproduct of feta. I’ve cleaned those toilets a zillion times over, but I’ve never made this recipe before.

No, I don’t get it all done, but never say I don’t have my priorities.

Share

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I like those priorities!

  2. 2

    Good prioritisation! Hopefully no-one will be eating from the toilet bowl, anyhow! ;)

  3. 3

    gigi said,

    I love your approach…it sums up how I feel perfectly. I’ll let my house fester in filth for another day so long as I get to try cooking some fab food – any day of the week!

  4. 4

    Melissa said,

    Yeah, this is kind of how I choose to not take a shower over picking to blog after the kids go to sleep instead. I might as well nurture relationships with people who can’t smell me. Or how I pick the cake and then choose to whine about not fitting into my clothes. Yep, that’s my job as a mom!

    Btw, I instantly recognized the cheese as feta (my second to air as I inhale both proportionately) but a byproduct of feta? Never heard of it. What is it? How did it taste? And where did you get it from?

  5. 5

    Trisha said,

    Camille: Me too!

    Rachel: We don’t even have a dog to drink from the toilet bowl, so thankfully, no worries there.

    gigi: Thanks for stopping by with your like-mindedness. Fab food rules, filth be darned!

    Melissa: The cheese called for in the recipe (adapted from Ottolenghi: The Cookbook) is manouri. Alas, manouri wasn’t to be found here in the Arizona desert, so I wound up subbing a good creamy chevre from Whole Foods (which was what the cookbook suggested as a substitute).

    Someday, somewhere, I will taste manouri! It’s on the must-list now that’s it’s proved elusive!

  6. 6

    Laurie Schiltz said,

    Thank heaven! I feel like my head is spinning all the time. Between a teaching a 4/5 split class , teaching an after school program, getting my masters, and going through a major remodel of a 100+ farm house I cannot keep track of everything. I feel like a record, yes a record, that has a stratch. Life can be over whelming at times. Thank you for your honesty! I respect everything you do as a parent. Teachers want to have parents like you in our classrooms. Keep up the involvement with you children, it will pay back dividends you never excpected. You are fab!!!!!

  7. 7

    Trisha said,

    Laurie: Thanks for your kind words and for the encouragement. I like your scratched record metaphor (good thing my kids don’t know about LPs — they’d think I *sound* like a scratched record sometimes!).

  8. 8

    kerry bakken said,

    The asparagus looks delicious! And who cares about the toilets–nobody’s looking inside them anyway! You’re picking and choosing for sanity, health, and happiness.

    Stopping by from SITS
    http://mommamaybemad.blogspot.com/2010/05/live-your-life-well.html

  9. 9

    Trisha said,

    Kerry: You’ve got it right: sanity, health and happiness must win out over all the rest, including neglected toilet bowls.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

