Improv night: Broccoli penne with lentils

Welcome to Improv Night, when I feature a thrown-together meal from my kitchen.

Here’s the thing: As much as I love my cookbooks, and my dog-eared food magazine collection, and the wide, wide world of worldly recipes on the web, sometimes dinner is less about following someone else’s very specific instructions and more about catering to my of-the-moment whims.

Allow me to continue: Sometimes dinner is about that fresh bundle of asparagus that looked too promising to resist, or about those languishing greens or leftover salmon. Put together with some grains or legumes from the pantry, whatever herbs or spices beg to be used, and we’re one fed and happy family. No recipe required, just a little hard-won experience and well-practiced intuition.

It’s not the timid way I used to do things, back when separate ingredients like flour and baking soda were suspect time-suckers, when I thought making muffins from a mix was the modern way to do things.

These days I care less about modernity and more about scratch cooking (and aren’t we glad that cooking is the new take-out, anyway?).  Now when I use a recipe it’s because I want to learn a new technique, or get a feel for an unusual ingredient. More often than not, I’ll take a recipe as a suggestion rather than as a set-in-stone way to prepare a dish.

The keys to improv dinners are a well-stocked pantry and freezer, a few fresh herbs, a well-honed trick or two, and a willingness to experiment.

This time there was a waiting head of organic broccoli from my produce basket and a Tupperware of leftover lentils. Once I discovered some caramelized onions in the fridge as well, things really got moving.

Prep went something like this: I washed and thinly sliced the broccoli (it cooks better that way) while my medium frying pan, with a bit of olive oil, was heating. I sauteed the broccoli with a fat pinch of red pepper flakes for several minutes until it was just tender, but nowhere near mushy. I added a few cloves of minced garlic part way through the saute.

Then I poured in a can of whole tomatoes (Muir Glen’s Fire-Roasted are my favorite) and broke them up with a wooden spoon as they simmered. I threw in the caramelized onions and about a cup of black lentils, got generous with the salt and pepper, and let it bubble gently away while I cooked the penne.

I boiled the penne until it was just barely al dente, then, using a large slotted pasta ladle, transferred it to the pan with the sauce to let it finish cooking there.

Of course I topped it all with shavings of Parmesan, and of course I served it with a bit of crusty bread and a simple crunchy salad. Like I said: Fed and happy.

Share

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Scrappy Girl said,

    I am just beginning my adventure in the kitchen and I am scared to do anything not specifically written in the recipe…hopefully I will be able to throw something together on my own soon! Pop over to my world and say hello!

  2. 2

    Trisha said,

    I used to be that way — afraid that if I diverted at all from the specific instructions in a recipe, I’d completely ruin the dish. Just keep cooking & you’ll get to the spontaneous part!

  3. 3

    omgyummy said,

    Hi Trisha,

    Saying hi from SITS! I love the name of your blog and your attitude about cooking. The confidence you have to try your own ideas comes with experience. And how liberating it is to give it a shot.

    I just started blogging a few months ago partly as a sanity check for years as a SAHM that I never expected and also because I love food and am old enough now to feel I have interesting ideas and stories to share. Inspiration can come from anywhere. I have a meyer lemon tree in my backyard (speaking of zest) and it is always the start of something really good…

    Come by and visit when you have time. omgyummy.wordpress.com

    Beth

  4. 4

    yum! Sounds like an improvised Arrabiata! I love improvising recipes, especially on pasta and rice dishes. Stopping by from SITS!

  5. 5

    Trisha said,

    Beth: You’re right: blogging (esp. about food & cooking) does offer a great sanity check! Thanks for stopping by.

    Mhe-Lhanee Benito: Improvising is the best — bring on the creativity!

  6. 6

    This is exactly how I cook most nights. Leftovers + things that need to be used + a dash of inspiration = frugal & delicious. Tonight, for example, we’ll be combining leftover cooked asparagus, zucchini from the CSA, and Bulgarian feta (just a bit left in the fridge) with fresh pitas and kofta from the neighborhood Turkish shops (impulse/inspiration).

  7. 7

    Trisha said,

    Camille: I like your formula. And Bulgarian feta! But what, oh what, is kofta?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

