Indulge me

My latest favorite snippet of copywriting genius came yesterday in the J. Crew catalog. It refers to an Italian calfskin bag and, I quote: “Is it a splurge if it’s completely worth it?

Immediately my thoughts turned to tomatoes. Specifically heirloom, that rainbow resurrection that’s been going on for some years now. Not that I easily toss off thoughts of pretty leather handbags; no, I’ve lost days to handbag dreaming.

But I think it would be a productive exercise for us to consider that word ‘splurge’ for a sec. A splurge is the opposite of economical, hardly provident, never necessary. It’s something superfluous, frivolous, but that you spend money on anyway. An indulgence.

Like a tricked-out, tasseled and pebbled Italian leather bag. Like heirloom tomatoes.

If all you take into account is the cost of something (especially when you compare it to the availability of a similar item of baser quality and a much lower price), than heirloom tomatoes can qualify as splurge material. Then again, heirloom tomatoes can be necessary on so many levels. They are, I learned yesterday, a necessary accompaniment to a fine round of recently acquired bucheron. A called-for late afternoon snack, sliced and flecked with sea salt. An irresistible lure for a hungry, curious kindergartner who really should progress her palate beyond her prized grape tomatoes.

In short, completely worth it.

So does their worth make them a splurge, or an essential? Or something of far greater consequence, as the couple shopping next to me concluded while selecting this and that tomato. I quote: “Let’s just have these for dinner.”

Share me!

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Casey said,

    On Sunday I watched a one-year-old take his first taste of dead-ripe Black Krim tomato. His eyes grew very large –and then he reached for another. Child after my own heart.

    And, may I add: you are so deserving of the Beautiful Site award.

  2. 2

    Trisha said,

    Casey: Thank you! And I love this anecdote — start ’em young, that’s what I always say. : )

  3. 3

    Yvonne said,

    J.Crew, without a doubt, has the best sayings and quotes in its catalogues! I’ve used it for years for collages and stuff! I just found your blog and I love it!

  4. 4

    Trisha said,

    Yvonne: So happy you found the blog! Thanks for mentioning you like it here.

  5. 5

    Elle said,

    Oh yes, they’re totally worth it, and especially because their season is so short.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

