In my bag

Today, an unexpected gift. The girls and I were driving home from somewhere, minding our own driving-down-the-street business, when we saw it, sitting on the corner just around from our house: a box of complimentary limes.

By the time it registered with us that there, on the sidewalk, was a pile of bereft citrus in need of a good home, we’d already shot past the mark. I flipped the car around and Emmie hopped out to read the accompanying sign. “Free limes!” it declared. “Perfect for salsas and margaritas!”

Perfect, indeed.

We helped ourselves to several, and I can safely say it’s the first time so much fruit has kept such chummy company with my loose change and lip gloss assortment and packs of Orbit gum. Now I have the honorable task of putting the limes to use. There’s a black bean hummus with lime, cilantro and cumin up my sleeve, and perhaps some lime bars.

But what else? Favorite creative lime recipes, anyone?

Share me!


Digg!
Delicious
Bookmark this on Delicious

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Lucy said,

    Some sort of lime cordial – lime and ginger – is always rather good. To serve with gin.

    A chutney or pickle? Indian cooks do fabulous things with limes. Worth a look.

    Lucky you. I’ll swap you for some of my abundance of lemons…

  2. 2

    Lime bars… yum. I’d kill for a post on those… pretty please?!

  3. 3

    I’ve always wanted to try a lime marmalade…

  4. 4

    Trisha said,

    Lucy: The mere thought of your ideas refresh me. I’m definitely looking into the chutney or pickle idea. Made Indian food for the first time ever last night, in fact, so I’m on a roll.

    Daniel: Coming right up! I know what I’m doing this weekend…

    Croquecamille: Fashioned a kumquat marmalade once from a key lime marmalade recipe, and now that that marmalade is gone, I have good reason to revisit the recipe. Thanks for the reminder!

  5. 5

    drcorner said,

    I just could never really appreciate limes (maybe I haven’t had enough of ’em 😆 ). But I do love lemons. A little lemon juice into a pitcher of water tastes great!

  6. 6

    drcorner said,

    BTW, How’d you enjoy your Indian food, and what’d you make (if you don’t mind me asking)?

  7. 7

    Trisha said,

    drcorner: Thanks for asking! We made a lentil dal, a la Mark Bittman (his Everything Vegetarian book), along with a carrot recipe with dates and golden raisins and spices. It was a hit! I’ll probably post about it shortly.

  8. 8

    drcorner said,

    Cool! Glad it turned out great.

    Dhals tend to taste great with Pita-type breads…give a it a shot sometime.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

