Feeling flip

[Recipe: Buttermilk Syrup]

It’s been a while — too long, in fact. But I have the best of excuses: I was on vacation, glorious vacation, for fall break (fall, glorious fall!). And my mom was in town, and we were busy with visiting and vacation, so there’s been little time or reason to haul out the laptop.

Besides, my kitchen hasn’t seen much action, what with me not being in it.

Maybe it was that lack of activity that prompted Sunday morning’s aebelskiver madness. Or maybe it was a nesting desire that crept in once I arrived home and unpacked. Or I could blame that recurring case of post-travel blues that tends to crash my coming-home party, the welcoming committee of laundry piles and suitcases parked mid-hallway that I inevitably trip over on my descent to reality.

Come back, vacation. I’m so not over you yet.

Whatever the reason, I was feeling ambitious enough to pull out the aebelskiver pan my mom got me for my birthday. This is the second time so far we’ve endeavored to make the filled Danish pancakes, and the verdict is that they’re dang good, if a little tricky to flip in the pan without smushing them.

So it’s true: I am a contrite, head-in-hands aebelskiver smusher. Poor things. They begin their rise to golden puffery just fine, until I get my flipping skewers in there and make a floppy, deflated mess of the whole thing. I try, ever so gently, to roll them over in their half-cooked state, but I’ve yet to perfect the flip.  Little bits of batter end up everywhere they shouldn’t be (coincidentally, a Williams-Sonoma e-mail featuring a how-to aebelskiver video just turned up in my inbox – perhaps I should watch and learn).

A friend with Danish heritage introduced me to the pancakes. It’s a tradition in her family for each bride to receive a traditional cast-iron pan for her wedding, and now they prepare giant piles of them every Christmas for guests. Hers turn out perfectly: little golden balls.

Mine were not blessed golden balls, but some were almost round. I made this buttermilk syrup to go with them — a recipe I got from my friend Tiff that she got from a friend of a friend. I can’t really account for its origins, but I can attest to its deliciousness.

Be warned: this is rich, sweet stuff. Wonderful atop lemon-mascarpone filled aebelskivers, and probably just as good on pancakes, waffles, the gamut of griddle-baked goodies. But I’m saving the leftovers (they keep for three weeks) to drizzle over pumpkin bundt cake.

Buttermilk Syrup

1 stick (8 tbsp) unsalted butter

3/4 C granulated sugar

1/2 C buttermilk (lowfat is ok)

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla

Place all ingredients in saucepan over medium heat and bring to a boil, stirring frequently. Remove from heat. Add baking soda and vanilla, whisking continuously. Serve warm. Keeps three weeks refrigerated.

Share me!

Digg!
Delicious
Bookmark this on Delicious

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Elisa said,

    Perfect! The maple kind doesn’t exist here, but you can be sure that I can find everything for this recette in its full-fat form. And don’t worry too much about your imperfect pancakes–I’m sure you’ll get the technique down soon enough, especially if they’re really as good as they look: full of golden, warm, autumny goodness. Thanks again!

  2. 2

    tiff said,

    Ohh, those smushers look amazing!! I’ve never heard of them before, obvioulsy b/c I call them smushers, but they look delish! I’m glad you liked the buttermilk syrup!

  3. 3

    Andrea said,

    I LOVE rich sweet breakfast foods, a little smooshed or not. I can’t even properly flip a pancake, so I’m sure I’d struggle with these. But they look delicious, and I love that top picture, all that golden brown crust! Uummm

  4. 4

    Ted Mosley said,

    My grandma used to make us ebelskivers the traditional way – with apples — for our birthdays. A great memory.

  5. 5

    Trisha said,

    Elisa: Thanks for the vote of confidence!

    Tiff: Yes, the syrup recipe is a keeper. Thanks for sharing!

    Ted: Very cool. I read recently that apples were the traditional filling, and that ‘ebel’ in Danish means apple.

  6. 6

    heather said,

    ohhhh my goodness 🙂 those look delicious! the buttermilk syrup sounds amazing… i
    want to try try it right now!!! i’m sure with some practice you’ll stop smushing them –
    they look amazingly good 🙂

  7. 7

    Jude said,

    Never tried my aebelskiver pan for this. I usually do takoyaki balls.
    The little puffs look great and hopefully I get the same results as yours.

  8. 8

    resiliencia said,

    Woah this blog is astounding i love studying your content. Carry on the nice paintings! You already know, many want game for this data, it is possible to help these people greatly.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

