Foodbuzz Publisher Community launches

Who’s up for a rousing little game of “Happy, Sad”? My sister and I played a round after we made the poor choice to actually pay money to see that Patrick Dempsey movie in which his character decides he’s in love with his engaged best friend.

It works like this: Happy: We got to spend two hours looking at Patrick Dempsey. Sad: That movie really sucked. Really.

So, let’s have a go with a food-related version.

Happy: The Foodbuzz Publisher Community officially launches! I’ve been part of the truly amazing Featured Publisher program for several months, and it’s been a fun ride that promises to continue. Read more here.

Sad: Amidst the launch excitement, I sliced my thumb cutting an onion. That’s right, I had a knife in my hand at the same time I was trying to have a real adult conversation. Cooking + talking = extraordinary ineptness on my part. This is an injury that laughs in the face of Neosporin and any configuration of bandages.

But here’s a happy-within-a-sad: A self-inflicted injury that occurs while cooking must mean I’m big league now. Completely deserving of my FP badge, no?

Happy: Popped into Trader Joe’s today, and there was a sign in the apple bin declaring the arrival of New York Honeycrisp apples. My heart leapt. I’ve been waiting months upon months for Honeycrisp.

Sad: The Honeycrisp bin was empty. Nary an apple to be found. And though the cashier reported that they expect more tomorrow, today is not tomorrow. I was at the store today. Must console self with ever more Fujis, a nice runner-up.

Happy: Just discovered a new swoon-worthy kitchen scent: that of minced garlic and lemon zest hitting a hot pan at the same time.

Sad: The tofu, spinach and brown rice dish that brought on the scent of garlic and zest was [sigh] underwhelming.

Game rules state that you must end with a happy: I’m back at dinner again, and tonight’s polenta promised me it will live up to its fave-status around here.

Want to play? Leave me a comment with a “Happy, Sad” round of your own.

Share me!

Digg!
Delicious
Bookmark this on Delicious

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Kirsten said,

    Happy: Got to try a new-to-me Mediterranean restaurant this weekend that was very good. (Cafe Medi in North Richland Hills, TX)

    Sad: Said restaurant is a three-hour drive away, so I won’t be going back any time soon.

    Happy: To have found your blog!

  2. 2

    Happy: Finally got the freezer defrosted.
    Sad: Still doesn’t seem to be functioning properly
    Happy: Our apartment has a pantry cupboard with ventilation outdoors to keep everything cool. It’s great for potatoes and onions.
    Sad: It’s been unseasonably warm this week. (Also a happy.)
    Happy: Made cheeseburgers to use up homemade brioche buns stored in the freezer. Best cheeseburgers in Paris.

  3. 3

    Trisha said,

    Kirsten: My favorite restaurants are always too far — that is sad. So happy you like the blog! Nothing sad about that…

    Camille: Where were your brioche buns when David Lebovitz was prowling Paris for the best burger? I’m betting he’d be sad to have missed yours. 🙂 Thanks for playing.

  4. 4

    I actually made them because of his series of burger posts. 🙂 I did send him a picture, and he said I should open up my own burger place.

  5. 5

    lemon and garlic is definitely one of those wonderful things (and I love the photos). And likewise on Foodbuzz–I was never much for the “community” thing before, but I’ve been really happy to be a part of it and am happy to see them succeeding.

  6. 6

    Elisa said,

    Happy: I finally managed to find a eco-friendly and health-conscious market near my flat in Moscow!

    Sad: Their bread selection was rather unimpressive. The search for whole wheat bread continues…

    Happy: I did manage to find whole wheat pasta, and just in time for the pasta with tahini-yogurt sauce and sauteed veggies that was on the menu for last night’s dinner (a perfect use for the last of the fresh cilantro I was so thrilled to find last week). I can’t wait to try the produce!

  7. 7

    Heather said,

    Happy: Found your lovely GREEN blog by way of foodbuzz.

    Sad: Jealous over all those wonderful squash.

    Happy: I to live in AZ so I am going to pump you for the location.

    Pump Pump

  8. 8

    Trisha said,

    Heather: You say you used to live in AZ? Or you do now? Where? Would you like the location of the squash, or my location? I’m in Phoenix; we found the squash in Willcox. Thanks for for the note!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

