So, you’re stranded on a deserted island…

I’m a lousy sport when it comes to playing the hypothetical situation game. Just ask Brian, who’s an avowed pro. He’s well known for entering a room with the words, “So, let’s just say that…”

Even if I’m in the mood to indulge him and play along, I can’t help but roll my eyes. Here we go again.

I suppose I have a hard time with that whole suspension of disbelief thing. Or maybe I worry that devoting brain power to ‘what ifs’ is taking away from some other, worthier mental exercise, like making a Target list or reading Chocolate&Zucchini, version française.

Let’s not forget the gripping fear of disappointment. Let’s say the hypothetical situation we’re envisioning is along the lines of some future progress, and who wants to get up hope? Who wants to be let down?

Then there’s an altogether different sort of hypothetical, in which one’s very survival is at stake. You know what I’m referring to, the oldest one in the book: “So, let’s just say that you’re stranded on a deserted island…” That’s where near-paralyzing fear comes in. I’m awful at that game because I don’t want to envision actually being stranded on a desert island. I have never, ever, wanted to be Tom Hanks.

However, put me on a desert island with five food items of my choice and a large solar-power refrigerator, and I might come out of it all with my sanity intact.

Camille at Croque-Camille tagged me last week with this fun little exercise. I’ve tagged three blogs below, but anyone can play. The rules are as follows:

You are stranded on a deserted island for an indefinite amount of time. You can bring along five food items and are allowed one sentence to justify your decision. It is an island so assume plentiful fish, coconuts, and sea salt. Storage is not an issue, as you also have a large solar powered refrigerator. Play along, tag who you want, and link back.

Naturally, I involved my hypothetical-and-food-loving husband on this one, and he gamely complied. Now, five items is miserly — my heart positively breaks over all the items I would miss, like rosemary and dark chocolate gelato. But, trying for practicality in the face of speculation, here’s what we came up with:

  1. Chickpeas / Garbanzo beans – Good fiber and protein, nutty flavor, and, assuming I can find a rock, I can grind some chickpea flour (maybe good for dredging some of that island fish in before frying?).
  2. Corn – Again, going for versatility – I can make cornmeal, and plant a row or two.
  3. Oranges – The scent is always uplifting, plus they’re good for juicing and flavoring fish, and because a little scurvy protection goes a long way (I can only assume).
  4. Potatoes – They’re hearty and comforting (as Camille pointed out) and pair marvelously well with sea salt.
  5. Chickens – Live ones, for laying eggs, and because I need something to talk to when I try to vocally raise my hypothetical hopes with a hypothetical, on-the-horizon rescue.

So now I’m tagging: Heather, at Bodacious Girl; Kirsten, at Now or Never; and Daniel, at Diary of a Would-be Chef!

**

I also have an award to pass along! Many big thanks to newlywed Amy at The French Kitchen for this Excellence Award!

I’m sending it on to Kelly, at EatMakeRead (can you say blood orange ricotta pancakes? Yum!); to Michael at Herbivoracious (knows his stuff); and to Allen at Eating Out Loud (great post quality, and because Recovered Recipes is inspired).


Share me!
Digg!DeliciousBookmark this on Delicious

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Wow, thanks Trisha! And a good island list too 🙂

  2. 2

    […] 30, 2008 by Kirsten Trisha over at The Zest tagged me for this meme, and in doing so has me completely […]

  3. 3

    Heather said,

    Well that was fun! Tho my choices leaned more towards total island domination and possibly opening up the first Island Mart… 😉

    http://www.bodaciousgirlblog.com/2008/11/cafe-desert-island.html


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

