Behold the possibilities

Did you know you could do this? Put grapes on pizza?

dsc_0047-1

Apparently it’s a traditional focaccia-style topping in Italy during grape harvest (known as schiacciata alle ‘uva), and I’m terribly late to the party.

I long ago entered the crossover territory of putting fruit into salads. I too went through my strawberry-and-baby-spinach honeymoon phase. Endearingly exotic at the time, it made a new woman out of me. These days I’m all over the clementines with the mesclun and the apples with the radicchio. Not to mention the giddiness I get up to involving grains. Pomegranate seeds and bulgur, anyone?

Enter Revelation Number Two: A couple years ago I skeptically-but-gamely ordered a nectarine and buffalo mozzarella pizza. Chewy sourdough, milky cheese, sweet fruit and a handful of basil.

And now I’m onto the innate flexibility of other fruits, and doesn’t it all just make so much more sense than insisting on like with like all the time? I mean, if tomatoes and avocados and olives — all technically fruits, even though they so often get lumped with the vegetables — can romp nicely with greens and grains, so can other fruits, right?

I’m telling you, my reverence has all but gone the way of Jell-O salad (thank goodness).

dsc_0041-1

Two recipes for flatbread/pizza with grapes appeared just months apart in two of my favorite ‘zines, Domino and Cookie. You don’t need a recipe for this, though. Just give your favorite pizza dough (homemade’s a cinch, if you have the time; when I don’t, I’m partial to Trader Joe’s whole wheat version) an olive oil rubdown, then top with sliced red or black grapes, some chopped rosemary or thyme, and a scatter of crumbled chevre or feta or bleu. Bake it at 425 degrees for 10 minutes or so until golden, then finish with sea salt and maybe some chopped basil.

Share me! Digg!DeliciousBookmark this on Delicious

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I love using fruit in savory food! (Canadian bacon and pineapple has always been my favorite pizza.) The grape pizza sounds like it would make a great cocktail bite. Cheers!

  2. 2

    Trisha said,

    Camille: How could I forget about pineapple on pizza?? Surely that was my first introduction to fruit on crust, after all. Thanks!

  3. 3

    Mandy said,

    That looks really good — and your crust looks amazing!

  4. 4

    windattack said,

    I love grapes on pizza. I like doing it up with grapes, kalamata olives, goat cheese and shallots. It’s the best!

  5. 5

    sarah said,

    I’ve been meaning to give this a try. I can’t seem to get my family on board with mixing fruit in to any of their savories. I tried to plead with them, and use the pineapple pizza defense. They may carry me out of the kitchen for grapes on their pizza, but your pictures had me drooling.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

