Lettuce lit

Like I mentioned just the other day, my antennae pique when the subject of food surfaces in books.  As one compelled to cook/read/write, I can’t help but be fascinated with the way authors employ food to develop plot and character.

dsc_0052

So when I came across the Food Quote Challenge from Almond & the Hazelnut, I knew precisely which quote I wanted to share with the reading-food-loving world. It’s an affecting personification of lettuce, of all things, from poet Lorna Crozier’s “The Blue Hour of the Day: Selected Poems”:

“Raised for one thing and one only, lettuce is a courtesan in her salad days. Under her fancy crinolines her narrow feet are bound.”

Share  me! Digg!DeliciousBookmark this on Delicious

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Mandy said,

    There’s one from Oscar Wilde that I love: “Only dull people are brilliant at breakfast.” Not about food so much as about boring people, but witty all the same!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

