Three lemons and a recipe

At the risk of sounding like a Hallmark card, or not quite cynical enough for my generation, I need to take a moment to gush.

dsc_10211

A friend dropped by the other day with a little something:  Three lemons and a recipe. They were in a paper sack, tied with a white satiny bow.

Beauty, simply presented. A thoughtful gift. An appetizing gesture.

Does she know that lemon bars ascended to my Dessert Top 5 of 2008? That my girls would be just as excited about the bow as I would be about the citrus?

Does she know that lemons have an energizing presence on my countertop? That they get me almost giddy with the thought of possibility?

Maybe not, but in a gift of lemons, she probably knew this much: Scent, color, form, promise. It’s all there in a lemon.

Share me! Digg!DeliciousBookmark this on Delicious

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Elisa said,

    I love that! Brilliant. You’ve got a very smart friend there. I may just borrow a bit of her brilliance one of these gift-giving days…

  2. 2

    gaga said,

    Aaaw, how sweet. I have a monstrous lemon tree, maybe I should give some away in this cute package too!

  3. 3

    Trisha said,

    Elisa: We all need to surround ourselves with people who do brilliant things, right? I need a little brilliance to rub off on me.

    Gaga: You should, you should! Spread the love. : )


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

