Pick a patch of purslane

My husband to me: “Hey, you know that weed you like to eat that you wrote about?”

Me: “You mean purslane?”

Brian: “Would you know it if you saw it? I think it’s growing in our front yard. The rabbits [wild, but cute, visitors] have been eating it.”

DSC_3025

And so it is: Purslane! It’s moved on in, taken for its own a tiny patch of dirt, uninvited but totally welcome — in my front yard. It picked me!

I have my very own Portulaca oleracea! [sigh]

Share this Post

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Elisa said,

    A wild purslane patch! That’s lucky! I hope it sticks around long enough to find its way into more than a few salads!

  2. 2

    Janna said,

    Mmmm, Puslane! My new found love! My boyfriend and I were at our local farmer’s market one Saturday when he noticed a pile of greens that he thought he recognized. “Is that what I think it is?” he said. “I dunno” I said. “Check the Turkish-English dictionary on your phone” I punched in Purslane and sure enough it was what he thought it was. A green, he hadn’t had in North America and missed so much, called Semizotu. We promptly bought a huge bag and took it home (calling all our Turkish friends on the way). He made a chopped salad of mint, purslane, arugula, salt and pepper, lemon juice, a bit of chili pepper powder, garlic and yogurt etc… It was so tasty! The next night he sauteed it with some spices, good but the salad is my fave.

    Amazingly the very next week, while out on a walk in the woods with the children I work with, my co-workers and I were trying to remind the children not to pick all the flowers and lovely growing things. When, one of our little boys handed over a clump of greens he had plucked out of the earth. I was about to have a talk with him, then I noticed it was Purslane!!! “Um, yes, we’re not supposed to pick the wildlife… yes” I said.
    Little did he know that my boyfriend and I were there later that evening picking loads of Puslane!! lol. Just wanted to share my story and excitement over Purslane 🙂 Side note: we researched it online and it contains more Omega-3 fatty acids (alpha-linolenic acid in particular) than any other leafy vegetable plant as well as a multitude of other healthful vitamins and minerals. Enjoy!

  3. 3

    Trisha said,

    Janna: I’m so glad you shared your story (and the chopped salad recipe! It sounds lovely & I must whip that up next summer when the purslane is young again). Semizotu in Turkish, huh? Love that you shared that, too. Thanks!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

