Ground

Few things are actually worth the incessant hype heaped upon them. Among the truly worthy: YSL’s Touche Eclat, Phoenix’s very own Pizzeria Bianco, and reusable shopping bags.

Add to that list freshly ground spices, which add oomph and flavor the way their pre-ground spicy sisters in no way can.

It’s why I love (big-red-heart-with-an-arrow-through-it-love) my spice and nut grinder. This, my cooking friends, is one petite-but-mighty kitchen appliance you won’t relegate to the garage-sale box. I use it for the obvious, for grinding whole toasted coriander and cumin seeds, for whirring grains of paradise into a fine finishing powder, for breaking lots of walnuts into itty-bitty chunks.

But I love it just as much for it’s ability to emulsify a small batch of pesto or blitz chunks of bread into coarse breadcrumbs faster than I can get out and assemble my blender and/or food processor. And then there’s the way it handles our favorite brown sugar, which arrives brick-hard and unusable.

The lone drawback is that it makes a racket, but sometimes things (or kids, for example) have to make a little noise in order to be get the appreciation they deserve.

Share

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    And the other thing is fresh basil. I could hardly believe the taste impact and now I try to keep a pot growing on my kitchen windowsill.

  2. 2

    Just last week I toasted and ground the spices myself for a curry thing I was making. I went the mortar-and-pestle route, as I am forbidden to use the coffee grinder for such things. 🙂 World of difference.

  3. 3

    trisha said,

    dressingmyself: I’m with you on the impact of fresh herbs. Now if I could only get them to grow so I can stop spending a fortune…

    Camille: It is a world of difference in the taste but also in the cooking experience, don’t you think? Taking charge of any element in a dish — not allowing some producer somewhere to make it too easy — is really satisfying.

  4. 4

    i always make sure that our kitchen appliances are very clean and shiny before using them ‘:”

  5. 5

    Conway said,

    I’m looking over this posting also it seems to be great! Nice writing style and you’ve expressed some fantastic points with this issue.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

